Jess & Julia Project…wait or is it Jess & Julie & Julia


Tomorrow Squarepants turns twelve and I wanted to make her what she wanted for dinner. I even let her pick out the cake she wanted, she brought back angel food cake with cream cheese, ew. She finally changed her mind to a red velvet cake, woot. We were watching Julie & Julia before she went to bed and that’s when she came up with the idea that she wanted Boeuf Bourguignon. I barely know how to pronounce that. Joy.

I started looking up recipes and since I’m not a fan of cooking wines or liquors for that matter, I had to do a huge search on wine substitutes. Cranberry Juice ftw. So tomorrow will be my first and hopefully only venture into Mastering the Art of French Cooking via channelling Julie Powell and Julia Child. I will, however, be changing the recipe a bit. From what I’m gathering, it’s like a Pot Roast but more…french? So no wine, instead cranberry juice and I’m adding potatoes, who eats roast without potatoes anyway?

This is what Boeuf Bourguignon is supposed to look like. Lets hope mine is somewhat similar.

3 thoughts on “Jess & Julia Project…wait or is it Jess & Julie & Julia

  1. glad its not me…i wouldn’t have thought lf cooking with a wine substitute. julia child was something i grew up watching, she sure did love her wine. Good luck with the dinner and tell grace happy birthday, luv ya

  2. It actually turned out extremely delicious. Grace loved it and so did Natalie. Which is very hard to do because it’s almost impossible to please a 7 year old and also a 12 year old. The recipe was pretty intimidating but ended up being very simple. I would definitely recommend it to other people.

    I wanted to post pictures but I fell asleep due to pneumonia and bronchitis and the person who got it out of the oven doesn’t value the art of documenting amazing food! 🙂 This will be my only venture into Julia Child’s world but it was a good one.

Leave a Reply

